gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo   
March 10, 2005
 Top Stories


An invitation to faculty, staff and studentsSeeking nominations for alumni awards
Ann Marie Hann

Have you considered nominating a graduate of your faculty for the Alumni Tribute Awards (ATA)? Until this year, only graduates of Memorial could submit nominations for these prestigious awards. But the new chair of the ATA, Ann Marie Hann, and her committee agree that the successes of Memorial alumni are recognized not only by fellow alumni, but also by the larger community.
This year, for the 24th annual awards, nominations for outstanding alumni are welcome from other members of Memorial and friends of Memorial.
Ms. Hann encourages Memorial alumni, faculty, staff and students to participate.
“Over the years we’ve seen how much these awards mean to the nominees,” said Ms. Hann. “By nominating someone you know and respect, you’re affirming that their work is important and that the university in general and your faculty in particular appreciate their accomplishments.”
The four categories are the Lifetime Achievement Award; the Horizon Award for outstanding alumni under age 35; the J. D. Eaton Alumni Award for volunteer service to Memorial; and the Outstanding Community Service Award. The awards are presented at a gala dinner during Celebrate Memorial in October.
Nominations for the awards can submitted until 4:30 p.m., April 29, to the office of Alumni Affairs and Development, St. John’s campus.
For full details and nomination forms go to or call 737-4354 and ask for the Alumni Tribute Awards nomination form.