Please Enter a Search Term

In Brief

Awards for anesthesiologists

Two members of Memorial University’s Discipline of Anesthesiology in the Faculty of Medicine have been chosen for national awards from the Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society (CAS).

Dr. Michael Bautista, assistant professor of anesthesia, will receive the CAS Clinical Practitioner Award for 2011. This award recognizes excellence in clinical anesthesia practice and is given in acknowledgment of Dr. Bautista’s contributions to the practice of clinical anesthesia in Canada. He is a graduate of Memorial’s medical school (Class of 1981) and has been in anesthesia practice for 25 years.

Dr. Geoff Zbitnew, assistant professor of anesthesia, will receive the CAS John Bradley Young Educator Award for 2011. This award recognizes excellence and effectiveness in education in anesthesia and is given in acknowledgment of Dr. Zbitnew’s contributions to the education of students and residents in anesthesia in Canada. He has been a member of the Discipline of Anesthesiology at Memorial for six years and completed medical school in his home town of Edmonton in 2000 at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Jeremy Pridham, chair of the Discipline of Anesthesia, said “we are very proud to have these two anesthesiologists as members of our department. These national awards recognize their dedicated commitment to both ongoing education and clinical excellence within Memorial’s Discipline of Anesthesia.”
The awards will be given out on June 27, 2011 during the 2011 annual meeting of the CAS taking place June 24-28, 2011 in Toronto.

Terra Nova award deadline extended

Researchers have an extra month to put their applications together for the Terra Nova Young Innovator Awards. Originally scheduled to close today, the deadline for applications has been moved to May 16, 2011.

The Terra Nova Young Innovator Awards are meant to recognize, promote and support outstanding and emerging researchers whose innovative work has the potential to significantly impact society. The prestigious award is funded by the Terra Nova development, an offshore oil field operated by Suncor Energy.
Up to $50,000 will be awarded each year. The funding is to be used for a specific research project with a year to 18-month duration.

The awards are earned through a highly competitive, peer-reviewed process and applications are welcome from all disciplines.

Full application details are available online,

Annual book sale

A giant annual used book sale, sponsored by the St. John's club of the Canadian Federation of University Women, goes ahead this year April 29-30 at the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John’s.

Gently used books will be on sale at the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John’s on Friday, April 29, from 10 a.m.-9 p.m., and Saturday, April 30, from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.

The event is held each year to support scholarships for students studying at Memorial University and the College of the North Atlantic, Kiwanis bursaries, donations to Memorial’s food banks, provincial art programs and a school in Nairobi, Africa.

Last year’s sale funded 22 scholarships and bursaries.

Please contact 570-7596 or for more information.

The Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) is a voluntary, non-profit, self-funded, non-partisan, non-governmental organization of close to 10,000 graduate women, students, and associate members in 112 clubs in Canada who advocate for equality for women and girls. CFUW seeks to improve access to education for women, for peace, justice, human rights and to support programs that improve the environment.