gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo
October 2, 2003

Rooms board
members announced

Dr. Priscilla Renouf
Dr. Priscilla Renouf, Canada Research Chair in North Atlantic Archaeology in the Department of Anthropology, will serve as chair of the board of The Rooms for a three-year term.
Faculty and students from Memorial University are well represented on the new board of directors for The Rooms.

The 18 appointments to the board announced by Julie Bettney, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, include Dr. Priscilla Renouf, Canada Research Chair in North Atlantic Archaeology in the Department of Anthropology, who will serve as chair of the board for a three-year term; Dr. Ronald Rompkey, a University Research Professor in the Department of English; Sadie Parsons, a student in the Business Administration program; and Colin Furlong, a theatre student at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in Corner Brook. All will sit for two or three-year terms.

The other board members are Rex Anthony, Stan Hill, Bobbie Redpath, Tom Foran, Seamus O’Regan, Shawn O’Hagen, Bill O’Driscoll, Michelle Baikie, Gary Newell, Gerlinde Van Driel, Steven Knudsen, Maxine Stanley, Doreen Hart and Heather MacLellan.

“The board of directors have embarked on an exciting undertaking as The Rooms Corporation will play an important role in preserving, presenting and developing Newfoundland and Labrador’s culture and heritage,” said Ms. Bettney. “An enormous task lies ahead as the opening of The Rooms quickly approaches in June 2004.”

The Rooms is a dynamic institution that profiles the art, artefacts and archival materials of the natural environment, contemporary peoples and ancient cultures of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Rooms will open in June 2004 and provide residents with access to their own and others culture and heritage.

Dr. Priscilla Renouf has been active in the heritage community of the province for over 25 years. She is a past board member of the Canadian Museum of Civilization and was instrumental in developing that museum’s first strategic plan. Dr. Renouf is passionate about the arts and heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador and has played a pivotal role in the development of Port aux Choix National Historic Site. She currently serves on the board of directors for the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador and is the chair of the Newfoundland Archaeological Heritage Outreach Program.

Dr. Ronald Rompkey is a strong supporter of the arts in the province who is a past chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council, a member of the board for CultureNet, Inc., and the Canadian Conference of the Arts. He is currently serving as co-président of Société 2004 and he also serves on The Rooms advisory committee for the Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador and the board for the Cultural Human Resources Council.

Sadie Parsons has been a board member with the Association of Cultural Industries, the Grand Bank Heritage Society and the Burin Peninsula Community Futures. She has also held positions with the Grand Bank Heritage Society, the Grand Bank Town Council and was a coordinator for the Town of Grand Bank Tricentennial and Come Home Year events.

Colin Furlong has acted in a number of theatre productions including Trojan Women, Annie Get Your Gun and Fame. He has also worked as a tour guide/interpreter at Commissariat House, a provincial historic site. Mr. Furlong would like to become a fine arts teacher in a high school once he has graduated from university.
For information on the other board members, see


  Celebrate Memorial Logo

   Top Stories

Chancellor of the University of Alberta
Dr. Peter Haggett
Dr. Priscilla Renouf
Grenfell Library

Next issue: October 16, 2003

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.