gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo
November 27, 2003
 Alumni Notes & Quotes


Alumni Notes & Quotes

Fergus O’Byrne (B.Ed.’87) will be honoured at the East Coast Music Awards in February as part of the legendary trio of Ryan’s Fancy (along with Dermot O’Reilly and Denis Ryan). The group will receive the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award for their role in bringing East Coast music to a national and international audience during the 1970s and ‘80s.

"We don’t want anybody to be in the unfair position of getting elected simply because they had access to large amounts of money – be it their own or somebody else’s."

— St. John’s City Councillor Dennis O’Keefe (BA, B.Ed.’67, M.Phil.’79) speaking on behalf of the St. John’s electoral reform committee, The Telegram, Nov. 3.

Marie Wadden (BA Hons. ’76) is one of five journalists nationally to receive a Canadian International Development Agency Fellowship to work in Africa. She is leaving for two weeks in February to investigate, among other things the impact of foreign over-fishing in areas without the resources or political clout to enforce regulations and protect the stocks.

"Government should act quickly and in concert with labour and industry to dispel the myth of skilled trades as a ‘last resort’ destination and make necessary financial investments in skilled trades training."

—Dale Kirby (B.Sc.’98, M.Ed.’00) writing in the Telegram forum on the urgent need to address imminent shortages in the skilled trades in the province. The Telegram, Oct. 30.

Edmund Phelan (LLD’64), at 101 years of age, was named Knight Commander of the Papal Order of St. Gregory the Great, one of the Vatican’s most prestigious orders.

Susan M. Doyle (BA’88) was recently elected president of the Public Legal Education Association of Canada.

A double honour in Mount Pearl: Dave Denine (BA(Ed.)’73) resigned as mayor in preparation for his new role as MHA in the House of Assembly, handing the chain of office over to the eighth mayor of the “Pearl” Steve Kent (BBA’01).

Paul Antle (B.Sc.’85), president and CEO of Island Waste management Inc., was named Gonzaga High School Alumnus of the Year for his outstanding professional and volunteer work.

There’s a new face behind the desk of the managing director of the Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation. In his new capacity Alastair O’Reilly (B.Comm. ’75) will take over a multi-million dollar mandate for the Atlantic Innovation Fund to provide scientific and technological assistance to the Atlantic Canadian fishery and aquaculture industry.

Researched and compiled by Debbie Connors.



   Top Stories

Mary McAuliffe
Dr. David Dodge
Peter Campbell
Dr. Ray Gosine


Next issue: December 11, 2003

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.