gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo
July 22, 2004
 Top Stories


National role for pharmacy student

Ryan Snelgrove
Photo by HSIMS
Ryan Snelgrove

By Sharon Gray
Ryan Snelgrove, a student at the School of Pharmacy and active student member of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP), has been chosen as the national student delegate to CSHP. In this position he will be responsible for representing the views of pharmacy students at the national level.

Dr. Linda Hensman, director of the School of Pharmacy and president of the Newfoundland and Labrador branch of CSHP, said she is very proud that Mr. Snelgrove was chosen for this position. She worked with him to create the first student position on the provincial branch, which he held in the past year.

Mr. Snelgrove was chosen for the position from six applications from across the country. He explained that the national student delegate position at CSHP only began last year, and as the second person to fill the position he is excited about the prospect of defining its responsibilities and goals. “Hospital pharmacy is not as popular among pharmacy graduates as is community pharmacy because of its financial incentives. I’d like to help change that by starting up a hospital pharmacy shadowing program across Canada. Such a program will help students to understand what hospital practice has to offer.”

Dr. Hensman said having a student representative dedicated to the hospital pharmacy organization is important in stimulating interest in hospital pharmacy among students. “We are trying to increase awareness of hospital pharmacy as a challenging career option.”

When he graduates next year, Mr. Ryan plans to pursue a residency in hospital pharmacy so he can work on a health care team in the delivery of direct patient care.


     Top Stories

Dr. Cecilia Moloney
Ryan Snelgrove
Richard McCormick
Dr. Brad de Young
Lind Peckford's sculpture of the Danger Tree

   Special Feature

   Welcome to Memorial

Next issue: August 12, 2004

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.