gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo
January 8, 2004




Dr. Ian Bowmer, past dean of the Faculty of Medicine, has been appointed to the new federal Health Council. The establishment of the Health Council, recommended by the Romanow Commission, was a key commitment of the February 2003 First Ministers’ Accord on Health Care Renewal as part of their efforts to improve accountability within the health care system. There are 25 councillors on the new Health Council and an independent chair; Dr. Bowmer is one of 13 non government organization representatives and one of three physicians on the council.

Dr. James Wright has been appointed interim head of the Department of Earth Sciences for the period commencing Sept. 1, 2003, to May 31, 2004, or until a new head is appointed, whichever occurs sooner. The appointment was made by the Board of Regents.

A poster from Memorial University presented to the 2003 Radiology Society of North America has received a cum laude Award of Excellence. The poster, titled Abdominal Pseudoaneurysms: The Great Pretender, was authored by medical students Kathryn Olsen and Craig Peterson with Dr. Paul Jeon, Radiology, Memorial, and Dr. Jeff Fidler, Radiology, Mayo Clinic. The poster was designed by Sylvia Ficken of the Faculty of Medicine’s Health Sciences and Information Media Services. Only three per cent of the 1,184 posters presented at the meeting received this award.

Keith Nicol, who runs the Winter Outdoor Pursuits Program as part of the Environmental Studies Unit at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, has recently been named as a contributing editor for The Master Skier, a U.S. cross-country ski racing journal. The Master Skier is read by athletes and coaches across North America and the information is geared to those who want to improve their skiing for racing purposes.

Dr. Denes Bajzak received the prestigious Tree of Life Award at the 47th Annual General Meeting of the Newfoundland and Labrador Section of The Canadian Institute of Forestry (CIF) Oct. 23-24, in St. John’s. The national award is for outstanding contributions to Forestry research, teaching and his profession.


     Top Stories

Lyle Wetsch
Dr. Axel Meisen
Anne Marie Hynes (R) with a student
Andrew Draskoy
Dr. Tanis Adey
Next issue: January 22, 2003

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.