Front Page


Alumni Notes
& Quotes




In Brief

New Faculty

News & Notes



Out & About

Papers & Presentations


Student View

Search This Issue

The Gazette Homepage

Division of University

E-Mail Us



March 6, 2003, Gazette

Erin Keough, director of Memorial’s Open Learning and Information Network (OLIN), has received this year’s Instructional Telecommunications Council (ITC) Award for Outstanding Canadian Distance Educator. Dr. Carl Robbins, chair of Memorial’s Telehealth and Educational Technology Resources Agency (TETRA), said this award recognizes Ms. Keough’s exceptional work in the field of distance education and is particularly significant considering the record number of nominations the ITC received this year. Ms. Keough has worked at Memorial in the field of distance education since 1983. From 1987-95 she was director of Telemedicine and co-director of TETRA; and continues in a part-time role as director of TETRA. Since 1995 she has been executive director of OLIN, responsible for a provincial agency which facilitates partnerships among the many public agencies involved in development and delivery of telehealth and telelearning services. Ms. Keough has a substantial number of publication and presentation to her credit and has served as an active member of numerous review committees. She has experience in all aspects of international work in regions as diverse as Africa, the Caribbean and Japan. She has participated in a range of boards and task forces, frequently at the executive level. Of particular interest in this instance is her work on the executive a well as the health and education committees of CANARIE, the Canadian Association of Distance Education (CADE), and the Advisory Committee of Experts fro the Office of Learning Technologies (HRDC).

Dr. Christopher Kovacs, Faculty of Medicine, is the 2003 recipient of the Royal College Gold Medal Award in Medicine for his paper PTH regulates fetal blood calcium and skeletal mineralization independently of PTHrP. The paper was originally published in Endocrinology 2001.The medal ceremony will take place at the annual meeting of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada on Sept. 12, 2003, in Halifax. Dr. Kovacs will present the award-winning paper at the annual meeting of the Canadian Society for Endocrinology and Metabolism in Ottawa in October. The award comes with a cash prize of $5,000, a gold medal emblazoned with the crest of the Royal College, plus the opportunity to participate in the Visiting Medalist Program to visit and speak at other faculties of medicine in the country.

Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi, University Research Professor, Biochemistry, has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Food Science (JFS) and the editorial advisory board of the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry (JAFC). The JFS is the scientific journal of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) which is the largest of its kind in the world. The JAFC is a publication of the American Chemical Society (ACS) with a membership of over 163,000. Dr. Shahidi has also been appointed to the editorial board of Nutraceuticals and Food journal.

Dr. Harold (Hank) Williams, Earth Sciences, could not attend the Jan. 23 meeting of the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists in Calgary, but many of his former students and colleagues were there as the citation for his Special Service Award was read out. This is Dr. Williams’ second CSPG award – he was the first recipient of the prestigious R. J. W. Douglas Medal in 1981. The latest award was accepted on his behalf by his former student and CSPG past president, John Maher.