Front Page


Alumni Notes
& Quotes

Big Hair &
Narrow Ties



Dean's Lists

In Brief

News & Notes



Out & About

Papers & Presentations


Student View

Search This Issue

The Gazette Homepage

Division of University

E-Mail Us


June 12 , 2003, Gazette

BARBARA COX, director, Office of Research, received the Dan Chase Distinguished Service Award in recognition of outstanding contributions and service to the Canadian Association of University Research Administrators (CAURA) on May 5 at the Annual Meeting and Conference of CAURA. The award was established to recognize CAURA members who have performed outstanding service to CAURA and have significantly furthered its goals and mandate and/or has been of significant benefit to the entire association. It is offered annually and Ms. Cox is the fourth recipient of this award since its inception. CAURA was founded in 1971 as an association of individuals committed to advancing the profession; to improving the efficiency and effectiveness of research administration at Canadian universities and other post-secondary institutions; to maintaining a strong presence and coherent voice on key issues relevant to research and to fostering cooperation and links with other organizations active in the management and administration of research.

DR. MARIE CROLL, a therapist in private practice in Corner Brook and a part-time lecturer in sociology at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, is this year’s recipient of the CCA Doctoral Dissertation Award of the Canadian Counselling Association presented May 22 at the association’s annual meeting in Halifax. Working in the tradition of clinical analysis and narrative research, Dr. Croll combined the fields of counselling and sociology in her doctoral dissertation, Narratives of Sexually Abused Women in Reflexive Therapy: Intra-Personal and Public Versions of Self, which the juried award has described as an “important contribution to the field of counselling.”

ELIZABETH DICKS, a doctoral candidate in the Faculty of Medicine, won an Award of Excellence (silver category) in the Canadian Institutes for Health Research National Poster Competition, held May 13 at the University of Manitoba. The poster was on Incident renal events in a 20 year prospective cohort study of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD): Later onset and slower progression of chronic kidney disease in PKD2 versus PKD1. The award includes a $250 prize.

DR. TED HANNAH, professor of psychology and chair of MUNFA’s Academic Freedom and Grievance Committee, has been elected to the Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT) for a three-year term. The Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee has responsibility for promoting academic freedom and tenure on behalf of the CAUT and dealing with alleged violations of academic freedom and tenure brought to its attention by individual affiliated members or others. The committee is also responsible for making recommendations to CAUT Council on policy matters relating to academic freedom and tenure, grievances and discrimination, as well as matters arising from the committee’s consideration of academic rights issues.

KARL LAWRENCE, M.Sc. candidate, Computational Sciences Program, and QASEM AL-MDALLAL, PhD candidate, Mathematics, won second place in the poster competition at the MITACS 4th Annual Conference and Ottawa Interchange, held at the University of Ottawa on May 8-10. Karl, Qasem and S. Kocabiyik are the co-authors of the poster titled Numerical Study of Streamwise Oscillations of a Cylinder in a Steady Current. Part 1. Locked-on States of Vortex Formation. Also Abdel-Rahman Abu-Labdeh, PhD candidate, Physics and Physical Oceanography, won third place in the same poster competition. Abdel-Rahman together with four other contributors (J. P. Whitehead, N.P. Chafe, K. De'Bell and A. B. MacIsaac) presented a poster titled Phase Behaviour of Antiferromagnetic Ultrathin Films. MITACS is the Networks of Centers of Excellence for Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems.

DR. PATRICK PARFREY, University Research Professor, was presented with the City of St. John’s Admiral Award for his role in bringing a major convention to St. John’s. The annual conference of the Canadian Society of Nephrology, in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Pediatric Nephrologists and the Canadian Organ Replacement Registry, was held May 22-26 in St. John’s at the Fairmont Newfoundland Hotel. Dr. Parfrey credited the work of Elizabeth Dicks and Sandra Kelly, both employees of the Faculty of Medicine and members of the secretariat of the Canadian Society of Nephrology, for the success of the conference. This is the first time the society has held its annual meeting in St. John’s, and Dr. Parfrey said it received rave reviews from participants. The five days of meetings included a review of courses, continuing medical education for nephrologists and the annual meeting, attended by 330 nephrologists.