gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

July 24, 2003


Dr. Ian Bowmer, dean of medicine, was elected to the Royal College of Physicians of London and inducted July 3. Although he is not a member of the college, Dr. Bowmer was proposed for election because of his contribution to medicine and medical education.

Dr. Christopher Kovacs, Faculty of Medicine, has been awarded the Young Investigator Award from the Canadian Society for Endocrinology and Metabolism. At the association’s annual meeting on Ottawa CDA/CSEM meeting in October he will present an hour-long lecture that is double-billed as the Royal College Gold Medal in Medicine Lecture, and the CSEM Young Investigator Award Lecture

Janine Woodrow and Charlene Noseworthy, M.Sc. students in the Faculty of Medicine supervised by Dr. Christopher Kovacs, have been selected to make oral presentations to the annual meeting of the Canadian Diabetes Association/Canadian Society for Endocrinology and Metabolism in Ottawa this October. Both students will also present at the September meeting of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research meeting in Minneapolis.

Elizabeth Rice, fifth-year student in the B.Ed. (Native & Northern) Primary/Elementary Program at Memorial University, is the ACUNS Award (Canadian Northern Studies Trust) recipient for 2003-2004. The CNST Awards program promotes student research and education in and about the North. Ms. Rice was also presented with the Thaddeus Dreher Scholarship Award (Newfoundland and Labrador Multicultural and Folk Arts Council).




Paton College

   Top Stories

Dr. Carole Orchard
Genesis group
Dr. don Bass (L)

Next issue: August 7, 2003

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.