Front Page
In Brief
Out and About
Papers and Presentations
Memorial on Books
Student View
Search this issue
The Gazette Homepage
Division of University Relations Homepage
E-Mail Us

 Click here to submit a story for Notable.

Dr. Rangaswamy (Sesh) Seshadri, dean of engineering, has had an article published in the Millennium Issue of the Journal of Pressure Vessel Technology, entitled Limit loads using extended variational concepts in plasticity. The article deals with calculating and designing for stress in mechanical components and structures. The journal is published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Dr. Mary Dalton, English, was one of the three judges for this year's Governor General's award for poetry. Dr. Dalton is the author of two poetry collections. Judges are appointed by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Dr. James Feehan, Economics, attended the National Statistics Council meetings in Ottawa on November 2 and 3. Dr. Feehan and the other members of the council, an advisory agency to Statistics Canada, considered matters relating to environmental accounting, measures of social cohesion, and low-income cut-offs.

Dr. Peter Tremaine, Chemistry, will be the new dean of Physical and Engineering Sciences at the University of Guelph next spring.

Dr. Lan Gien, Nursing, was elected chair of the accreditation board of the Canadian Association of the University Schools of Nursing (CAUSN) for the year 2000. The Board of Accreditation renders accreditation decisions for baccalaureate nursing programs in Canada and makes visits to schools which have applied for candidacy. Dr. Gien has also been appointed to the national task force on accreditation for two years to promote quality in nursing education and to deal with various issues related to accreditation of nursing education programs.

Dr. Glyn George, Engineering and Applied Science, has been re-elected chair of the school council at Booth Memorial High School for the 2000-2001 school year. Dr. George has served as a community representative on that council since 1998, and is also the elected secretary of the Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of School Councils for the 1999-2001 term of office.

Dr. Mary Williams, Engineering and Applied Science, has been appointed to NSERC's University Faculty Awards Selection Committee for a three-year period ending June 30, 2003.

Top of Page