Front Page
In Brief
Out and About
News and Notes
Your Letters
Student View
Search this issue
The Gazette Homepage
Division of University Relations Homepage
E-Mail Us

(June 28
, 2001, Gazette)

Dr. Jim Barnes, Faculty of Business Administration, served as co-chair of an international conference of the American Marketing Association. The Services Marketing Research Conference of the AMA is held every second year and took place in Sydney, Australia, May 26-28, 2001. At the conference, Dr. Barnes presented a paper co-authored with Judith Cumby of the Faculty of Business Administration titled Going Beyond Functionality: Establishing Customer Relationships on the Internet.

Dr. Robert Forsey, a part-time member of the Faculty of Medicine at the Melville Hospital, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, has received the Discipline of Family Medicine’s Dr. Yong Kee Jeon Award for 2000. The award is given annually in honour of Dr. Jeon, a family physician who contributed over 20 years service to the rural community of Brookfield, Newfoundland, as well as teaching residents within the Family Medicine Program. The award recognizes excellence in teaching Family Medicine residents; contributions to the Discipline of Family Medicine either administratively or in time to residents, and participation in teaching activities such as the Rural Family Medicine Teachers Meeting, the Rural Fair, educational teleconference, rounds or resident interviews.

Kellie Hadden, University Counselling Centre predoctoral psychology intern, received two awards at the Canadian Pain Society’s annual conference in Montreal during the week of May 13-16. Ms. Hadden received the Canadian Consortium on Pain Mechanisms, Diagnosis and Treatment Scholarship and the Best Clinical Research Poster Presentation.

Dr. Linda Hensman is acting director of the School of Pharmacy during the period Dr. Chris Loomis is acting vice-president (research and international affairs).

Peter Morris, associate director, Division of University Relations, was elected to the board of directors of the Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education (CCAE) at the organization’s annual conference held in Montreal in June. CCAE is an organization of professionals involved in public affairs, alumni relations and fund-raising at universities and colleges across the country.

Ellen Oliver, the administrator of the Collaborative Social Work Program at Memorial’s School of Social Work, was appointed president of the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) during the association’s annual general meeting in Toronto May 31. A graduate of Memorial’s Social Work program , Ms. Oliver has focused her career primarily in the field of mental health and has worked in various areas of the province, and in British Columbia. Her work experiences include roles as clinical practitioner, supervisor, director and provincial consultant. She has been employed at the School of Social Work since 1996 where her job involves coordination of the Continuing Education Program, delivery of continuing education, coordination of graduate field practicums, specialized skill training and a variety of other duties.

Matthew Penney, who holds a BA (History) from Memorial, was awarded the Monbusho Scholarship by the Japanese government. The scholarship, valued at $45,000 per year, will allow Mr. Penney to pursue Japanese studies at Kanazawa University for two years.

Dr. Gerald Pocius, Folklore, was appointed to a new heritage advisory group for the federal Department of Canadian Heritage. The group of 15 will meet periodically during the upcoming year to develop new directions for federal heritage policy in Canada. Members of the group are from museums, archives, libraries, and public and private heritage organizations across the country.

Dr. Neil V. Rosenberg, Folklore, was awarded the Marius Barbeau Medal at the 25th Annual Meeting of the Folklore Studies Association of Canada, held in May in Quebec City. The medal, commemorating one of the founders of Canadian folklore studies, is given in recognition of a remarkable contribution to folklore and ethnology. The Barbeau Medal recognizes Neil Rosenberg’s wide achievements and lasting contributions to the study of folklore in Newfoundland and Canada.

Dr. Robert Sexty, Business Administration, was elected to the board of director of the Canadian Consortium of Management Schools (CCMS) at its May meeting. The Canadian Consortium of Management Schools (CCMS) launched in 1990 is a management education organization comprising 31 member institutions from across Canada (one of which is MUN). It is administered by an eight-member, elected Board of Directors who represent these business schools. One of the most innovative management education networks on the world scene, CCMS has a record of cooperation in successful ventures with networks all over the globe. CCMS undertakes primarily international projects in management education and development, through partnerships created with national and international institutions and agencies.

Dr. R. (Sesh) Seshadri, dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, was noted in The Design-by-Analysis Manual produced by the European Pressure Equipment Research Council. A project of the European Commission Joint Research Centre, the manual establishes guidelines for the application of engineering design and analysis to typical pressure vessel structures under a variety of loading conditions. Dr. Seshadri’s work is referenced in 10 different places throughout the work.

Top of Page