Front Page
In Brief
Out and About
News and Notes
Meet Memorial
Papers & Presentations
Search this issue
The Gazette Homepage
Division of University Relations Homepage
E-Mail Us

(April 12, 2001,

The Board of Regents has appointed David Wright chairman emeritus at Harlow. The Board also appointed Dr. Alan Perry as Harlow’s new chair for a three-year period effective Jan. 31, 2001. Also appointed Trustees of Harlow were Alan Howard, Ken Archer, Jene Platt and Diane Kraft. Beatrice Lee was appointed to the Harlow Trust.

Memorial’s HIV Scholars-in-Residence have had their funding from Health Canada renewed. Dr. Janet Fitzpatrick, Social Work, and clinical lecturer/psychotherapist Gerry Mugford, Medicine, are two of the five Canadians selected last year for these prestigious awards, administered through the Association of Canadian Medical Colleges. Gerry Mugford said the ACMC is very pleased with the progress of their collaborative project on curriculum development, which is aimed at helping health care professionals provide optimum treatment for persons with HIV/AIDS. In the coming year the two scholars plan to integrate technology into treatment delivery.

Dr. John T. Brosnan, head, Department of Biochemistry, has been appointed chair of the advisory board of the Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes of the Canadian Institute for Health Research.

Term 8 civil engineering students represented by Dan Whiffen, Kris Clarke, and Jabez Hunter placed fifth out of 37 in the Concordia Bridge Building competition in Montreal in March.

Mukhtasor, an engineering PhD student jointly supervised by Drs. Tahir Husain and Leonard Lye won the Student Award at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Risk Analysis held in Virginia in December 2000 for his paper titled Risk-based Design of Produced Water Discharge from Oil-production Platforms.

Dr. Leonard Lye, Engineering, was this year’s winner of the APEGN award for Teaching Excellence. The award was presented at the APEGN dinner and dance on March 10 to mark Engineering Week at the Battery Hotel.

Three students from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics participated in the Putnam Mathematics Competition last December. Memorial’s team Sara Mathews, Alasdair Graham and Jerome Terry competed against teams from 434 colleges and universities in Canada and the United States and placed 106th. The team was coached by Dr. Nabil Shalaby, Dr. Maurice Oleson and Dr. David Pike.

Parkstone Press, an international publisher of coffee-table art books, has recently released Dracula, with text by Dr. Elizabeth Miller, English. With over 130 illustrations, this book is available in English, French and German editions. The book will be launched on May 21 at Rizzoli Bookstore in New York.

Top of Page