Front Cover


In Brief

Research Feature

Research News and Notes

Out and About

Papers & Presentations

Memorial's Archival Treasures




Search This Issue

Division of University Relations Homepage

E-mail us


(May 18, 2000, Gazette)

Remembrances of Memorial past...

30 years ago

Honorary degrees conferred
May 1970 —
Honorary degrees are awarded this month to Mrs. A. B. Perlin, Dr. Crawford B. Macpherson, Professor Chester Small, the Right Honourable the Lord Shakleton and Dr. Maud Karpeles. The university’s first doctor of philosophy degrees were conferred on two graduates: Helen E. Bradbury of St. John’s received her PhD in Biology and Leona M. Deorksen of Grand Falls became the first PhD in English.

25 years ago

Over $1 million from NRC
May 1975 —
National Research Council awards to faculty members of the university total over one million dollars for the first time. These awards were made as a result of 125 operating grants, six equipment grants and one travel fellowship.

20 years ago

Basque research funded
May 1980 —
Research on the 16th century Basque who established whaling stations on the Labrador will be continuing for at least the next three years with the help of a $173,696 grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. The work is being carried out at Red Bay by Dr. James Tuck, Anthropology, who heads up a team of Memorial anthropologists, historians and folklorists.

At the 1980 spring convocation, six honorary degrees are awarded to the Hon. R. S. Furlong, A. Millicent Loder, A. Ernest Pallister, Dr. Harry D. Roberts and the A. L. Penney. Just over 1,000 students graduated during this convocation, which was presided over by Chancellor Paul Guy Desmarais.

15 years ago

NAPE strike settled
May 1985 —
Striking maintenance and security workers voted to accept a new contract after eight weeks on the picket lines. About 145 workers ratified an agreement May 10 following a marathon bargaining session. The new contract will span a period of 30 months and begins with a $750 payment, three increases of two per cent each over a 12-month period, and in the third year workers will receive a $500 addition to their salary scales and a further two per pay hike.
In convocation news, five sessions at the Arts and Culture Centre see 1,300 degrees conferred, with five honorary degrees. The honorary graduates were Dr. William Carew, Dr. G. G. L. Henderson, Dr. Morris Zaslow, Dr. Anna Templeton and Dr. Elliott Merrick.

10 years ago

Memorial names new president
May 1990 —
The new president and vice-chancellor of Memorial will be Dr. Arthur W. May. He succeeds Dr. Leslie Harris, who will retire in August. Dr. May was born and raised in St. John’s and has served in a number of positions with the federal department of fisheries, including deputy minister from 1982-86. He is currently president of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council.

A record number of students receive degrees at the 1990 spring convocation. About 1,800 graduate and undergraduate degrees are conferred, along with six honorary degrees. The honorary degrees go to Paul Guy Desmarais, Jan Furst, James Donald Hatcher, Francis Norman Hughes, Kathleen Macpherson and Roseann Runte.

Five years ago

Transfer of Aquarena approved
May 1995 —
The provincial cabinet has approved Memorial’s request to acquire the Canada Games Park, including the Aquarena and the track and field complex, from the City of St. John’s. The city will provide an annual operating subsidy of $250,000 for a three year period and furnish capital funding this year to a maximum of $200,000 for structural repairs to the Aquarena.

In other news, the President’s Awards for Exemplary Service are created to recognize those employees who have demonstrated a commitment to continuous service excellence within the university community. The awards include a cash prize of $1,000.

At convocation, more than 2,000 undergraduate and graduate degrees are conferred at eight sessions of convocation, including one in Corner Brook. Eight honorary degrees are given to Thomas Vincent Curran, John Frederick Dewey, Victor Ling, Satya N. Nandan, Cyril Francis Poole, Nancy Riche, Gregory Power and Bertha Wilson.