Front Cover


In Brief


Research Feature

Research News and Notes

Out and About

Papers and Presentations

Student View

Memorial's Archival Treasures


Your Letters


Search This Issue

Division of University Relations Homepage

E-mail us


(March 23, 2000, Gazette)

Seasons change for Sea-Hawks

Memorial’s women’s basketball team fought hard, but in the end dropped both its games at the CIAU championships at the University of Alberta campus in Edmonton last weekend.

In opening round action on March 9, Memorial was defeated by the number one seed from the University of Victoria 71-59. The Sea-Hawks were led by player of the game Ann Murrin’s 28 point, eight rebound effort. AUAA playoff MVP Erica Coultas netted 13 points and five boards, Amy O’Reilly had nine points and eight assists while Erika Stokes added 10 points.

The team lost 75-64 to the Laurentian Lady Vees March 11.

At the AUAA men’s basketball championship in Halifax, Memorial could not shake the Metro Centre curse as it lost another first round match-up at the AUAA playoffs. Acadia’s 43-33 halftime lead proved to be the margin of victory as they eliminated the Sea-Hawks 90-80. Jermaine Bruce scored 23 points and dished out eight assists for MUN and Matthew Chapman pulled down 23 rebounds to go with his 12 points and four blocked shots.

During the 1999-2000 AUAA men’s basketball awards during the tournament weekend, Jeff Saxby was honoured as the AUAA Rookie of the Year and Matthew Chapman was named an AUAA first team all-star.

Jermaine Bruce played his final season as a Sea-Hawk this year and was recognized for his efforts as an AUAA second team all-star. The Ontario native finished third in league scoring with an average of 19.1 points and was seventh in free throw percentage at 76.7 per cent.

MBA students tops again

The results are in! A team of MBA students from Memorial has tied a team from Université Laval for first place at the National Advanced Technology Management Competition held at the University of Ottawa from March 8-9.

“This win marks our third consecutive first-place win for the competition,” said Dr. Alex Faseruk, coach for the Memorial teams. “By far, this is the best final round of case competitions that I have seen in my 19 years of coaching experience. Our students continually strive to exceed the requirements for these competitions both academically and personally.”

In this year’s preliminary round, Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration qualified two teams for the top three positions of the final round. For the final round of the competition, teams were required to prepare a written case for submission and two oral presentations.

The winning Memorial team includes Peter Fitzgerald, Denise Gibbons, Stephen Hiscock, and Barbara Strickland with Ken Sooley as alternate.

Memorial’s second entry in the competition were runners up. Members of the team include Nadia Ducey, Shelley King, Kerri-Lynn Parsons, Chad Saunders and Surita Maddox as alternate.

Both Memorial teams were coached by Dr. Faseruk and Peggy Coady.

Open air radio

Do you want to know more about the natural history of the place where you live?

Do you want to hear more radio with an ecological point of view?

Do you want to have fun while exploring important conservation issues?

Then tune in to Open Air, natural history radio from Newfoundland and Labrador. It’s on every Thursday at 9 p.m. on CHMR 93.5 FM You can also hear it in real audio on the Internet, at:

Open Air is produced by Janet Russell and Rachel Bryant on behalf of the Alder Institute.

Canadian professors of the year award

Salute extraordinary undergraduate teaching by honouring the educational leaders at your institution who inspire and motivate others. Sponsored by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education (CCAE), the award is an excellent way to celebrate excellence on campus and provide role models for faculty and students.

Winners will be selected in two categories: Outstanding College/Cegep Professor of the Year and University Professor of the Year. Each winner will receive $5,000, a framed citation, and national media attention. Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2000 Canadian Professors of the Year program. The deadline is April 20, 2000.

The complete entry form and entry guidelines may be obtained on the CASE Web site at by down loading the PDF File or by calling the Fast Fax service at (800) 341-2594 and request document 741 at the prompt.

Biology conference this weekend

Dr. Kenneth Kao, Terry Fox Cancer Research Laboratories, is co-organizer of the Y2K Northeast Meeting of the Society for Developmental Biology, being held March 24-26. He is co-organizing the meeting with Dr. Kimberly Mowry, Brown University. Dr. Laura Gillespie, also of the Terry Fox labs, is a session chair. Three Memorial graduate students, Blue Lake, Rebecca Ford and Artee Luchman, will be giving presentations at the meeting, being held at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA. This is the first time a Canadian university has been involved in organizing the conference. For further information go to