Front Cover

Convocation 2000


In Brief


Research Feature

Research News and Notes

Out and About

Papers and Presentations

Student View



Search This Issue

Division of University Relations Homepage

E-mail us


 Click here to submit a story for Notable.

(June 8, 2000, Gazette)

Dr. Serpil Kocabiyik, Mathematics and Statistics, has been selected to receive this year’s Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award at Memorial. One award of up to $25,000 is offered annually under this program at Memorial. Dr. Kocabiyik’s main research area is theoretical and computational fluid dynamics which intersects with various types of sciences and engineering, ranging from blood flow to offshore engineering. This program was developed to recognize, promote and support outstanding young faculty researchers whose academic work is particularly innovative, enhances the learning environment in their department and has the potential to be significant to society at large. The awards support faculty members in their scholarly careers and enable them to further their research. On a national basis, the program is intended to help attract and retain bright young minds in Canadian universities.

Dr. Dennis M. Mulcahy, Education, was recently awarded a grant of $4,500 by the Faculty of Education Research and Development Committee to initiate a research project entitled, The Effects of Long Distance Busing on the Education and Lives of Students Attending Rural Consolidated Schools. Dr. Mulcahy’s research will be linked with a similar project being carried out in the United States by Dr. Craig Howley of the Rural School and Community Trust. Dr. Mulcahy’s research will focus on Newfoundland and Labrador while Dr. Howley will be investigating the effects of busing in Ohio, West Virginia, and Kentucky.

Namal Senanayake, a PhD student in Food Science under the supervision of Dr. F. Shahidi, was the recipient of the Honour Student Award from the American Oil Chemists’ Society (AOCS) in recognition of outstanding preparation for a career in the field of fats and oils, including research, academic course work, publications, and personal experience. Mr. Senanayake was also the first place winner of the Biotechnology Student Paper Award from AOCS in recognition of the excellence of a paper presentation entitled Characterization of Enzymatically Synthesized Structured Lipids Containing Gamma-Linlenic Acid and Long-chain omega-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids, co-authored by N. Senanayake and F. Shahidi. AOCS is the main international scientific authoritative body in the area of lipid science. The awards were presented during the 91st AOCS meeting, April 25-28, 2000, in San Diego, CA.

Dr. Antonio M. Martin, Biochemistry, has been appointed to the Committee on Diversity of the Institute of Food Technologists, based in Chicago, for the period 2000-2003. Dr. Martin has been also invited to be a member of the International Steering Committee for the Sharjah Solar Energy Conference, incorporating the seventh Arab Conference on Solar Energy and the Regional World Renewable Energy Congress, to be held in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, Feb. 19-22, 2001.