Front Cover


In Brief


Research Feature

Research News and Notes

Out and About

Papers & Presentations

Student View


News Bits


Search This Issue

Division of University Relations Homepage

E-mail us


 Click here to submit a story for Notable.

(April 6, 2000, Gazette)

Members of the Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography were awarded this year’s prize by the Canadian Association of Physicists for the best condensed matter physics paper published in the Canadian Journal of Physics in the previous year. The authors are Dr. Mark Whitmore, Dr. John Whitehead and Dr. Andre Roberge. Dr. Whitmore and Dr. Whitehead are professors in the department. Dr. Roberge was their post doc. The paper was the first in a series of two on the theory of phospholipid membranes under pressure.

Dr. Elizabeth Miller, English, was recently in Toronto as a guest of the Royal Winnipeg Ballet. She presented pre-show chats at three performances of Dracula at the Hummingbird Centre.

Bob Guest, Ocean Sciences Centre and Memorial’s diving officer, was elected president of the Canadian Association of Underwater Science (CAUS). Dr. Bob Hooper, Biology, has been elected chair of the standards and procedures committee for CAUS. Both attended the annual meeting of CAUS in Toronto March 3-5.