(June 5, 1997, Gazette)

Dr. Neil Bishop's translation of Robert Lalonde's novel Une belle journée d'avance (One beautiful Day to Come) has been awarded a Canada Council translation grant. Mr. Lalonde, a Quebec writer and actor, has won numerous literary prizes including the Governor General's Award for fiction in French. Dr. Bishop is a professor in Memorial's Department of French and Spanish.

The Board of Regents has approved the following:

George Beckett has been named director of Health Sciences Information and Media Services until 2000.

Rex Clark is the new head of the Department of Anthropology; he will serve a three-year term, which began May 1.

Dr. John Evans has been appointed head of the Department of Psychology for a three-year term, effective Sept. 1.

Dr. Grant Gardner has been appointed associate dean (administration and undergraduate) of the Faculty of Science for a further two years.

Dr. Diane Goldstein will be the head of the Department of Folklore for a three-year term, beginning Sept. 1.

Margaret Hackett is the new associate director (undergraduate programs) of the School of Nursing.

Dr. Linda Kealey has been appointed head of the Department of History until 2001.

Dr. Kevin Keough, vice-president (research), has been appointed to a second five-year term.

Wayne King has been named director of the P. J. Gardiner Institute for a further three-year term.

Dr. Linda Phillips is the new associate dean (graduate programs, research and development) in the Faculty of Education; her term runs from May 15, 1997-Aug. 31, 2000.

Dr. John Scott, Philosophy, has been appointed to the J. R. Smallwood Centre for Newfoundland Studies' Board of Directors.

Dr. Anne Thareau has been appointed director of Institut Frecker for a second two-year term.

Dr. Elizabeth Church, Counselling Centre, has been appointed to clinical adjunct faculty status at the Minnesota School of Professional Psychology in Minneapolis, Minn., for a three-year term. Individuals chosen for adjunct faculty status have successfully undergone a rigorous three-step process of review, and have been determined to offer high quality supervision and represent the highest standards of the profession. Dr. Church's appointment acknowledges her commitment to professional training in psycology.

Dr. Clar Doyle, Faculty of Education, won first prize in the 1997 Newfoundland and Labrador Playwriting Competition for his historical drama Out from Here (see also Out & About). Dr. Doyle's work was chosen from among 20 new scripts; his prize is $1,000 in cash, two airline tickets, and the opportunity to workshop his script during the International Drama Festival in St. John's in July.

On May 14, at its annual Partners Dinner, the Faculty of Business Administration named Barbara Genge the 1997 Newfoundland and Labrador Entrepreneur of the Year. Ms. Genge owns Tuckamore Wilderness Lodge in Main Brook, on the Northern Peninsula. Rhonda Mitchelmore, an employee of Tuckamore Wilderness Lodge and a Memorial University student, accepted the award on behalf of Ms. Genge. The annual award was established in 1986 by the faculty's P.J. Gardiner Institute for Small Business Studies to recognize demonstrated entrepreneurial spirit through the establishment of a successful business. Ms. Genge started Tuckamore Wilderness Lodge in 1986 and today it is a successful outfitting business involved in moose and black bear hunting, fishing, and adventure tourism. The company continues to grow, and attracts customers from such countries as Norway, Sweden, Germany, Spain, the United States and Mexico. Ms. Genge is active in tourism and community-based initiatives on the Northern Peninsula. She is involved in the Women's Enterprise Bureau and is president of the Viking Trail Tourism Association. As well, she gives one-third of her weekly sales to the Eider Duck Foundation of Ducks Unlimited, which has created employment for local women in conservation activities and in the garment industry.

Dr. Terry Murphy, a religious studies professor and Memorial's dean of arts, was presented with the George Edward Clerk Award for 1997 at the annual dinner of the Canadian Catholic Historical Association (CCHA) in St. John's on June 5. The prize is presented every two years by the English Section of the CCHA. Dr. Murphy was described as a worthy recipient who "has excelled in scholarly work and publications dealing with the religious history of Canada." Last year Dr. Murphy co-edited (with Roberto Perin) A Concise History of Christianity in Canada (Oxford University Press). He has taught at Memorial since 1975, and was head of the Department of Religious Studies from 1986-92. He was named dean of arts in 1993. Dr. Murphy is a long-time member of the CCHA, and he served as the English Section's editor-in-chief for CCHA Historical Studies from 1988-90.

Dr. Doreen Neville, Community Health, is the new chief executive officer of the Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Health Information. She will be responsible for developing a strategic plan for the new organization and providing administrative leadership. Dr. Neville began her career in the nursing field, and has extensive experience in intensive care and psychiatric nursing. She is a graduate of the Harvard School of Public Health and is currently an assistant professor of health policy and health care delivery in the Faculty of Medicine.

Darryl Stratton, a second-year student in the Faculty of Business Administration, has returned from the Asia-Pacific Economic Co-operation (APEC) ministerial meetings held May 6-10 in Montreal, where he was part of a six-member delegation representing Canadian youth. Mr. Stratton was chosen to attend based on his participation in a three-week Internet conference on Youth and Trade, which involved Canadian university students.

The delegation prepared a short report entitled Youth and the APEC Community, and presented it to International Trade Minister Art Eggleton. The report outlined challenges faced by youth wanting to get involved in the Asia-Pacific region, and a series of recommendations aimed to improve youth's involvement in APEC. Recommendations include the creation of an informal Canada Asia-Pacific Youth Council, a series of exchange programs, and reevaluating grade school curriculums to include a concentration on the Asia-Pacific region.

The St. John's native said he was proud to represent Newfoundland and Labrador at such important meetings. He added, "The Asia Pacific region is and will continue to be the most exciting region of the world in terms of business potential and development. This region is important to Canadian youth as we are the leaders of tomorrow, and with youth's increasing understanding and acceptance of the incredible potential that exists in the region, we will ensure that Canada does not miss the many opportunities available."