Faculty

The profile of Dr. John Geck above is the first in a series introducing departmental faculty. The co-directors of this short film are Drs. Jamie Skidmore and Chris Lockett.


Avery, Dwayne – Assistant Professor
BA, MPhil, (Memorial), PhD (McGill)
Media Studies, Film Studies, Urban Cultures, Domesticity, Motherhood Studies

Office: AA 3034
Telephone: 864-8928
Email: davery@mun.ca

Charman, Caitlin - Assistant Professor
BA (Hons) (St. Francis Xavier University), MA, PhD (Queen's University)
Newfoundland Literature, Atlantic-Canadian Literature, and Canadian Literature

Office: AA 3040
Telephone: 864-8290
Email: ccharman@mun.ca

Clissold, Bradley - Associate Professor
BA (York), MA, PhD (McGill)
Modern British Literature, Film Studies

Office: AA3041
Telephone: 864-8276
Email: bradleyc@mun.ca

Cumming, Mark - Professor
BA (Hons) (Wilfrid Laurier), MA, PhD (Western Ontario)
Nineteenth-Century British and American Literature. Editor of The Carlyle Encyclopedia

Office: AA3009
Telephone: 864-8289
Email: mcumming@mun.ca

Dalton, Mary - Professor
BA (Hons) (Toronto), MA (Memorial)
Anglo-Irish Poetry, Canadian Poetry, Newfoundland Literature, the dialogue novel, Samuel Beckett, I. Compton- Burnett. Creative Writing (Poetry)

Office: AA 3029
Telephone: 864-8043
Email: mdalton@mun.ca

Deshaye, Joel - Assistant Professor
BA (Hons), MA (Saskatchewan), PhD (McGill)
Twentieth and Twenty-First Century Canadian Poetry and Fiction, Film Studies, Celebrity, The Western.

Office: AA 3031
Telephone: 864-8983
Email: jdeshaye@mun.ca

Farquharson, Danine - Associate Professor
BA (Alberta), MA, PhD (Memorial)
Irish Literature, Critical Theory (Postcolonialism, Feminism, Cultural Studies).

Interim Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies
IIC-2012, Bruneau Centre for Research and Innovation
Telephone: 864-2478
Email: daninef@mun.ca

Finley, Robert - Associate Professor
BA (Dalhousie), MA, PhD (Toronto)
Creative Writing, Poetry, Caribbean Literature, Travel Narratives, Children's Literature

Office: AA3024
Telephone: 864-8052
Email: rfinley@mun.ca

Geck, John A - Assistant Professor
BA (University of Rochester), MA, PhD (University of Toronto)
Medieval Studies, Middle English Literature, and Medieval/Early Modern Drama

Office: AA 3032
Telephone: 864-8058
Email: jgeck@mun.ca

Golfman, Noreen - Professor. Provost & VP (Academic)
BA (Alberta), MA, PhD (Western Ontario)
Canadian Literature, Film Studies, Women's Literature, Critical Theory

Office: IIC2012
Telephone: 864-2478
Email: ngolfman@mun.ca

Juhász-Ormsby, Ágnes - Associate Professor
BA, BEd (Eötvös Loránd, Budapest), MA (CEU, Budapest), Ph.D.(Eötvös Loránd, Budapest)
Early Modern Literature, Book History and Print Culture, Neo-Latin Literature

Office: AA3012
Phone: 864-6899
Email: ajormsby@mun.ca

Legge, Valerie - Professor
BA, BEd, MA, PhD (Memorial)
Canadian Literature, Women's Literature, Critical Theory

Office: AA3023
Telephone: 864-8592
Email: valerie@mun.ca

Lockett, Christopher - Associate Professor
BA (York), MA (Toronto), PhD (Western)
Twentieth Century American Literature, Postmodernism, Film and Popular Culture

Office: AA3044
Telephone: 864-7699
Email: clockett@mun.ca

Lokash, Jennifer - Associate Profesor and Department Head
BA, PhD (McGill)
British Romantic Literature, Literature and Environment, Literature and Medicine, The Gothic, Posthumanism

Office: AA3026
Telephone: 864-8277
Email: jlokash@mun.ca

Loman, Andrew - Associate Professor
BA (Victoria), MA, PhD (Queen's)
Nineteenth Century American Literature, Urban Literature, Children's Literature, Pre-Marxian Socialism

Office: AA3036
Telephone: 864-8293
Email: aloman@mun.ca

Lynde, Denyse - Professor
MA, PhD (Toronto)
Canadian Drama and Theatre History, Irish Drama, Feminist Drama, Contemporary Newfoundland Drama

Office: AA2047
Telephone: 864-3201
Email: dlynde@mun.ca

Moore, Lisa - Assistant Professor
BFA Nova Scotia College of Art & Design
Creative Writing, Canadian Literature, Literature of the Americas

Office: AA 3021
Telephone: 864-8296
Email: lisam@mun.ca

Nichol, Donald W. - Professor
BA, MA (Carleton), PhD (Edinburgh)
Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Literature, Pope, Editing, and Publishing, Scottish Literature, Twentieth-Century British Literature (esp. Burgess), History of Copyright, Satire, Film

Office: AA3013
Telephone: 864-8064
Email: dnichol@mun.ca

Ormsby, Robert - Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator
BA (Toronto), MA (Birmingham), PhD (Toronto)
Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Performance, Theatre History

Office: A3011
Phone: 864-8275
Email: rormsby@mun.ca

Pedri, Nancy - Professor
BA (Windsor), MA, PhD (Toronto)
Contemporary Literature, Literary Theory, Word and Image Relations

Office: AA3042
Telephone: 864-8067
Email: npedri@mun.ca

Polack, Fiona - Associate Professor
BA, PhD (Tasmania)
Post-Colonial Literature and Theory, Australian Literature, Newfoundland Literature, Island Studies, Energy Humanities

Office: AA3006
Telephone: 864-8055
Email: fpolack@mun.ca

Schipper, William - Professor
MA (Windsor), PhD (Queen's)
Old English language Literature, Middle English Literature, Manuscript Studies, Medieval Latin, Medieval Encyclopedias, Rabanus Maurus

Office: AA3027C
Telephone: 864-4406
Email: schipper@mun.ca

Skidmore, Jamie - Professor
BAH (Queens), MA, PhD (Toronto), Radio and Television Broadcasting Diploma (Algonquin)
Theatre Design, Technical Theatre, Modern Drama, Theatre History, Canadian Drama, Circus, and Clowns

Office: AA3027B
Telephone: 864-8404
Email: skidmore@mun.ca

Staveley, Annette - Professor
BA (Hons) (Reading), MA, PhD (Memorial)
Nineteenth and Twentieth Century British Literature, Comedy, Gender and Comedy, Shakespeare

Office: AA3008
Telephone: 864-8279
Email: astaveley@mun.ca

Walsh, Donna - Associate Professor
BA, MA (Wyoming)
Fantasy, Science Fiction, Other Speculative Literatures, Twentieth Century American Literature

Office: AA 3010
Telephone: 864-8037
Email: donnaw@mun.ca

Contact

Department of English

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552

becomestudent@mun.ca