Please Enter a Search Term

The Margaret Waterman Kelly Teaching Prize

The Margaret Waterman Kelly Teaching Prize, valued at $500, is awarded annually at the Spring Convocation of Memorial University of Newfoundland. The prize is presented to a female student from Newfoundland and Labrador, who is enrolled in the Faculty of Education of Memorial University of Newfoundland and who, upon graduation with a Bachelor’s degree in Education (Primary, Elementary or Secondary), has demonstrated excellence in teaching combined with commitment to community service. The prize is awarded by the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards on the recommendation of the Dean of the Faculty of Education. For further information, consult the Convocation Awards section of the University Calendar.

Margaret Waterman Kelly, a teacher in pre-Confederation Newfoundland, was born in Torbay but lived most of her life in Gambo, Newfoundland. As part of her studies for teaching, Margaret Waterman was a student of Memorial University of Newfoundland at the Parade Street Campus. Her life exemplified the highest ideals of education and volunteerism. This teaching prize was established by her daughter, Dr. Ursula Kelly, to commemorate the lifework of her mother.



2016 - Colette Vatcher

2015 - Heather Carroll

2014 - Erica Noonan

2013 - Brittany Long

2012 - Amanda Earle

2011 - Chantal Nash

2010 - No Recipient

2009 - Susan Gale

2008 - Ashley Kinsella