WWI Steering Committee

Founded as a living war memorial in 1925, Memorial University formed a presidential steering committee in 2012 to prepare for the centenary commemoration of World War I in 2014-18. In order to undertake its mandate to plan and oversee the university’s commemorations, the committee organized a consultation process to generate community input. This was accomplished over the July to December 2012 period by:
• inviting public input on-line via a submission form on the university’s remembrance web page;
• holding regional consultations in four areas of the province to build awareness, determine public interest and gather public input;
• holding a committee retreat to consider the findings of the consultation process and to determine recommendations for the university’s next planning steps;
• developing a report summarizing the consultation input and the committee’s recommendations on commemoration planning priorities and processes for the five-year centennial period.

The report is available on this website. 

In order to engage as much of the university community as possible, an advisory committee was also established. The terms of reference and membership for both committees can be found on this page.

 

STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS 

Dr. Lucian Ashworth (Administrative Leave 2017-2018)Professor & Head of Political Science Departmentlashworth@mun.ca(709) 864-8180
Mr. Bert RiggsChair, WW100 Steering Committee briggs@mun.ca (709) 864-3960
Ms. Terry Bishop-Stirling (Administrative Leave 2017-2018)Assistant Professor and Head of History Department tstirlin@mun.ca(709) 864-8420 
Ms. Margot Brown Executive Director, President’s Office mbrown@mun.ca (709) 864-8216
Ms. Victoria Colllins, Secretary Executive Director, Marketing and Communications vcollins@mun.ca 709 864 8662
Mr. Douglas Ballam WWI Commemoration Events Coordinator dballam@mun.ca (709) 864-3960
Dr. Justin FantauzzoAssistant Professor, Department of Historyjfantauzzo@mun.ca(709) 864-2128
Dr. Shannon Lewis-SimpsonCommunity Engaged Learning, Student Life; Adjunct Professor, Department of Archaeologysmlewis@mun.ca(709) 864-2607

 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Dr. Lucian Ashworth, (Administrative Leave, 2017-2017)Professor and Head of Political Sciencelashworth@mun.ca (709) 864-8180
Ms. Victoria Collins (Secretary)Executive Director, Marketing and Communicationsvcollins@mun.ca (709) 864-8662
Dr. Rob SheaAssociate Vice-President (Academic and Student Affairs) Marine InstituteRobert.Shea@mi.mun.ca (709) 864-6926
Dr. Penny BlackwoodExecutive Director, Alumni Affairs and Developmentpablackw@mun.ca (709) 864-4044
Mr. Sean KennedyDirector of Advocacy
MUNSU
advocacy@munsu.ca (709) 864-7633 ext. 209
Ms. Laura EdwardsDirector, Marketing and Communications,Grenfell Campusledwards@grenfell.mun.ca (709) 637-7331
Dr. Sean CadiganDepartment of History
St. John’s Campus
scadigan@mun.ca (709) 864-4898
Ms. Rebecca StuckeyGraduate Student’s Unioncommunications@gsumun.ca (709) 864-4395
Mr. Fred HawksleyProfessor
Faculty of Education
fhawksley@live.com (709) 864-8259
Mr. Rob WellsAssociate Director, Learning Technologyand Media Designrob.wells@mun.ca (709) 864-8093/3423
Ms. Martha MacDonaldActing Director, Labrador Institutemartha.macdonald@mun.ca (709) 896-6213
Mr. Bert RiggsHead, Archives andSpecial Collections Divisionbriggs@mun.ca(709) 864-8303 
Ms. Margot BrownExecutive Director, President’s Officembrown@mun.ca (709) 864-8216
Ms. Terry Bishop-Stirling (Administrative Leave, 2017-2018)Assistant Professor andHead of History Departmenttstirlin@mun.ca (709) 864-8420
Dr. Justin FantauzzoAssistant Professor, Department of Historyjfantauzzo@mun.ca(709) 864-2128
Dr. Shannon Lewis-SimpsonCommunity Engaged Learning, Student Life; Adjunct Professor, Department of Archaeologysmlewis@mun.ca(709) 864-2607
Mr. Douglas BallamWWI Commemoration Event Coordinator(Committee support)dballam@mun.ca(709) 864-3960
    

Contact

WW100 Commemoration Program

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552

becomestudent@mun.ca